The Weight of Curly Hair

Well, here it goes….

I want to start off by saying that if you’re expecting me to give it to you STRAIGHT, I’m sorry… you found the wrong blog…. (No, not really! :))

What I mean is, I’m going to give it to you CURLY. Living the curly life is anything but straight, smooth, and frizz-free. My curly hair carries a lot of baggage…no, literally. I swear it accounts for a good chunk of my body weight. Ok, not really, but you get what I’m saying: there’s a lot going on with my lion’s mane and taming it isn’t my specialty.

God teaches me a lot about Himself, myself, and life when I think about my experiences with curly hair. And by no means am I saying God couldn’t be teaching people with straight hair these same lessons, because I believe He is. But, I thought this would be a great way to share a little bit about me personally and a whole lot about the awesomeness of God.

Each week I will be posting a “Curly Cue” (or reminder) that God has made clear to me and incorporate a certain characteristic of my curly ‘do that brings that truth to life.

So the first cue that I want to share with you is about the weightiness of curly hair.

Like I alluded to above, my curly hair is heavy. Its heaviness is due to its thickness and bulkiness. My neck muscles are subjected to it on the daily, so it’s pretty tiring (even when I have it up in a bun – but that can be another blog post). In other words, there’s quite a bit of compensation on my end for keeping my head up. Thus, I’ve grown to realize I like when I cut my hair short – less hair, less weight, and not to mention, the less I have to work to maintain it.

This gets me to reflect on all the times I’m heavy, weighed down, and compensating in my own life. Whether it be in academics, sports, friendships, relationships, time management, sin, family, jobs, health, etc. And just like my curly hair, I try to be the one to fix it (chop it off) and handle it in my own strength.

Here’s the good news: we weren’t meant to carry that weight on our own – Jesus already did that! He already carried that weight for you and for me.

He carried it in love.

He carried it in agony.

He carried it on His back.

The weight of the cross has never been ours to bear and by God’s grace, it never will be.

Don’t carry your burdens, concerns, failures, struggles or whatever’s weighing you down any longer. You can try to chop things off all you want to, but someone still has to tend to what’s left. Allow Jesus to be your neck. Allow Him to compensate and strengthen you. All you have to do is come:

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” {Matthew 11:28-30}

What weight do you have in your life right now that you think Jesus isn’t sufficient to bear?

Don’t believe that lie.

It’s ALREADY finished and He IS sufficient.

CURLY CUE #1: Let Jesus carry the weight you’re trying to carry yourself. You WILL find rest for your soul.

Love,

Brenna, the girl with curly hair ❤

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. An absolutely BEAUTIFUL message !! Thank you, Brenna — I teared up !! And I must share that my hair is very straight — but your message struck a cord in my life too !!

    Like

  2. Love it! Wise words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

