Finding Strength in the Frizz

It’s time someone answers the question you’ve been too afraid to ask: Yes, CURLY HAIR HAS A MIND OF ITS OWN! Half the time I don’t even know what to expect from my hair – I just hope the lion will stay in its cage for the day.

Related image

One day it decides to domesticate itself and the next it unleashes the beast, a.k.a. FRIZZ FEST! All I got to say is: “rain, rain, go away, come again another day.” Rain and curly hair don’t make a pretty couple, let me tell ya. Whenever it’s raining, the lion’s mane has a field day! And no matter what you do, make no sudden movements in attempting to touch it. Simply put, rain is a great initiator of a frizzy ‘do.

So, I either try to cover my frizz with something or hide it by putting it up in a bun. But no matter how hard I try, the frizz will always be there and I’ve come to realize that’s ok.

Image result for frizzy hair rain

It’s on rainy days that I’m reminded of vulnerability. When things seem to be pouring down on me and exposing the parts of me that I dislike, I have a tendency to hide and ignore it as best I can. I’m afraid to not only allow others, but even myself to see what I look like when I’m vulnerable. My weaknesses are ugly, right? And aren’t my strengths more attractive?

I can labor in trying to build a temporary wall of strength, or I can rest in the strength my weaknesses yield to.

When you allow God’s Word to wash you with truth, the Holy Spirit will expose you of your frizziness. Not to condemn you, but to save you. God does not want your shortcomings to be your master – that is His rightful place, not theirs.

Addressing your flaws can get frizzy, but instead of trying to hide them, acknowledge that they’re there and allow the washing of His Word to also wash away your pride. And once you do, you’ll see strength begin to develop. Not strength generated by your own power, but by His power.

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” {2 Corinthians 12:9}

Admitting your faults actually opens up more space for strength to take its place. A strength greater than you or I could ever muster on our own.

Image result for strength

Enjoy the cleansing you will receive from God’s Word.

Enjoy the Holy Spirit exposing you to your frizziness out of love.

Enjoy the transformation that takes place in your heart.

Enjoy the strength that you receive.

Above all, enjoy Jesus Christ, your Savior more – who has saved you from your frizziness for eternity.

CURLY CUE #2: Don’t let the thought of being vulnerable keep you from experiencing the transforming strength of God.

I want more strength, don’t you?

Love,

Brenna, the girl with curly hair ❤

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Amazing. Another beautiful blog. Thank you so much, Brenna, for sharing your faith. And your vulnerability. ❤️ You are a genuine example of God’s strength manifested through your “weakness.” To Him be the glory !! 🙏🏼

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Natalie McLaughlin January 28, 2017 — 1:06 am

    Love this girlfriend! Beautifully written and full of Truth!

    Like

Leave a Reply

