All Tangled Up

Curly hair can get pretty messy. One strand of hair decides to grab another,

and then that one invites another,

who welcomes another,

who then beckons another,

and so it goes until you’re left with what I call a tangled mess.

From my experience, it’s best if you just let the “tangle dangle” because when you attempt to detangle, the frizz and lion’s mane begin to make a surprise entrance. And at this point, I do whatever I can not to instigate either one.

So here I am, my hair is pretty much dry after my morning shower, and I have a mixture of swirls, curls, and tangles. I must say, sometimes I’m impressed with the curl pattern that’s formed on my head. My mane includes tight curls, loose curls, large curls, or just wavy hair…but hear me when I say this: they happen ALL AT ONCE!!

85ca9106168402105be1f7d07633b0c8

That’s the thing, it’s not like the structure of my curls are consistent throughout the landscape of my head – it changes depending on what section of the map (or hair) you’re looking at!

Even though that can be super frustrating, I find myself always playing with my curls. Twirling or wrapping my fingers around them, grouping different sections together (like a loose curl and a large curl) which adds to the tangled mess, or even gently running my fingers over the surface of my curly Qs.

how-to-2nd-day-curly-hair-2-650x365

*I hope I’m not the only one with curly hair that does this…but hey, I’m being honest :).

I think it’s just something people with curly hair do without even thinking about it. It’s like a natural and automatic tendency to grab hold of our curly hair and play with it…maybe because we like the feeling or texture of it?

I can definitely say I learn a lot about my curls by playing with my hair. When I twirl my hair daily, I’m constantly touching it, learning it, and even observing it.

Upon reflecting on why I do it myself, I think it’s just a habit that I’ve formed. It’s what I automatically do when I’m thinking about something, or what I naturally do when I’m feeling uncomfortable, or maybe something I do to keep me occupied.

So I’m just gonna say it: Why can’t I have that same habit with the Word of God?

Why can’t thinking about God’s Word be a natural tendency for me 24/7?

Why can’t I meditate on God’s Word as much as I play with my curls?

Why is God’s Word not the immediate thing I go to when I have nothing else to do?

Why am I not constantly touching, learning, and observing God’s Word?

And you know what? You can tell when someone’s been twisting their curls – they stand out more.

The same thing goes with someone who’s been thinking on the Law of God – they don’t just fit in with the rest of the world around them. People notice a difference in their conduct. People hear a difference in their speech. And people feel a difference in their presence.

“Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers, but whose delight is in the law of the Lord, and who meditates on his law day and night.

That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither – whatever they do prospers.” {Psalm 1:1-3}

maxresdefault

 

Did you read that?

(1) BLESSED is the one whose DELIGHT is in the LAW of the LORD.

(2) BLESSED is the one who MEDITATES on HIS LAW DAY and NIGHT.

(3) Whatever they do PROSPERS.

BOOM – we’re promised three things right off the bat.

I don’t want to get tangled up in my hair or the things of this world that will pass away, I want to get tangled up in Him.

You may be thinking, “But Brenna, it’s easier to do things with our hair because it’s always right there and God’s Word isn’t.”

Oh friend, all the more reason to make sure it is. Because when we do, we are promised to be blessed.

So I challenge you, wrap your fingers around the Word of God.

While you’re eating.

While you’re talking.

While you’re walking.

While you’re working.

When you have nothing else to do.

And yes, college friends, even while you’re studying.

I think if we took the time to think on the things of God during the seemingly mundane activities of everyday life, our lives really wouldn’t seem so mundane.

CURLY QUE #3: Don’t get tangled up in your own world, run your fingers through the mind of God… you just might discover some beautiful promises.

Love,

Brenna, the girl with curly hair ❤

P.S. Tangled is one of my favorite Disney movies :D!

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Simply beautiful. Another well-written blog. VERY GOOD message. I must say … I love your curly hair, Brenna !! ❤️ Such a gift from God — both YOU and your hair !! 😋 Love, Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

