Favoritism Forbidden

I must confess, there have been countless times when I’ve wished for straight hair. There have been days where I’ve woken up and craved the opportunity to wear my hair down without fear of the frizzy beast.

It would be so much easier to wake up, straighten a few random stragglers, and go about my day (not take two hours).

It would be so nice if I could brush and de-tangle my hair when it’s dry (not gonna happen, btw).

It would be nice if I could leave my hair down after having it up in a bun for awhile (you don’t even wanna see that mess).

And it would be nice if the volume of my hair wasn’t on the edge of a circus clown sometimes.

clown_peruecke_mit_brombeerrotem_haar-clown_wig_with_blackberry_red_hair-18898(1)

But, surprisingly… despite all the struggles that come with the lion’s mane…I’m pretty partial to it.

Yep, you read that right – I wouldn’t want to let go of my crazy curls…because that’s what makes me…well, me.

I’m not sure what my life would be like without my curls (even if I do complain about them from time to time) because they just fit my personality so well: a little “weird” at first, but soft and silly when you get a little closer.

However, I want to caution myself – and you – to what we’re partial to. Whether we’re partial to our hair or other people, just because we’re partial to them doesn’t make it okay.

God calls His followers not to show partiality.

If you really keep the royal law found in Scripture, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself,’ you are doing right. But if you show favoritism, you sin and are convicted by the law as lawbreakers.”

{James 2:8-9}

I also must confess that I struggle with this.

Leading a small group on the book of James is quite the task because a lot of it has to do with my own sin issues bubbling to the surface. Chapter 2 of James is especially challenging because it talks about something so simple – not giving special treatment to some – and yet, I see how easy it is for me to do just that.

It’s easy for me to spend time with others who are similar to me. It’s easy to love others who reciprocate it. It’s easy for me to spend time around Christ-followers as opposed to not. It’s easy for me to do things with people who make me comfortable. It’s easy for me to have conversations with people who agree with me. A lot of things are easier when all I think about is myself.

Not showing partiality is a theme that’s been popping up for me more frequently. And the only times I’m able to recognize it is when I stop thinking about how my decisions only affect me and start thinking about how they affect others around me. But most notably, how my decisions and treatment of others affect people’s perceptions of the person of Christ.

Are the things I’m partial to something Jesus would’ve been partial to? Do I treat everyone equally? Am I partial to things that make me comfortable rather than things that rely on faith and trust?

So, why is it so easy for me to be partial to my curly hair, which inflicts struggles daily, but not when it comes to the royal law, which will also cause times of discomfort?

I think it has to do with two things:

(1) One includes struggling with myself while the other includes others in my struggling

(2) And one involves more immediate, temporary rewards while the other involves more distant, but lasting rewards

Essentially, what we’re partial to comes down to who’s involved and how it benefits us. Instead, we should challenge ourselves to be partial to who’s NOT involved and how THEY can receive the benefits.

CURLY CUE #8: Don’t be partial to things that make you comfortable – be partial to things that challenge you, teach you, and grow you more into the image of Jesus Christ.

You never know, maybe one day you’ll start a blog about it ;).

Love,

Brenna, the girl with curly hair ❤

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Beautiful. Thank you, Brenna. ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

