Don’t Touch?

You know how some people love when other people play with their hair? Whether it be touching it, running their fingers through it, playing with their curls, etc.? Almost like it’s a massage to their head or something?

Well me….not so much.

I tend to cringe when people touch my hair because I know how easily my curls can FREAK at just the wrong move. You’ve got to be a mixture of gentle and firm. Firm enough that you accomplish what you want, but gentle enough that you don’t ruin the natural structure of it.

636054094357120048-862657516_dont-touch-my-hair-gif

When someone tries to run their fingers through my hair, a few things usually happen: (1) they marvel at the fact that this really is my natural hair and it’s not crunchy from using product (2) they’ll get their fingers stuck and (3) that section of my head will be a little more frizzy than the others.

You’re probably wondering how this can be when you see ME constantly playing with and touching it. (And yes…it still gets frizzy) … So here’s the scoop…

For one, like I mentioned in an earlier blog, it’s just grown into a habit. In other words, I do it for no other reason than for something to keep me busy. Secondly, I would argue that I know what works and doesn’t when it comes to playing/touching my hair. And thirdly, it’s that problem of control that I have.

In a nut shell, it mostly comes down to my pride.

I think I know how to handle it best, I think I can take care of it myself, I think I can figure things out on my own.

I, I, I. Me, me, me.

“Do you see a man who is wise in his own eyes? There is more hope for a fool than for him.”

{Proverbs 26:12}

Last week’s blog post focused on being willing to share YOURSELF with others. This week, I want to reverse it and highlight the importance of being willing to have ANOTHER’S COUNSEL in your life.

If you struggle with pride (like I do), this probably isn’t easy for you. You don’t like to admit when you need help and that you don’t know everything. But it’s good that we don’t know everything because we weren’t made to.

“Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high; I cannot attain it.”

{Psalm 139:6}

We all have limitations and finite minds. But, God, being rich in love, gifts others with knowledge and experience in areas that can teach and instruct us in all wisdom and godliness.

Don’t be afraid to seek out others older than you to pour into and train you in the way you should go. Discipling relationships are a form of God’s grace in Jesus, teaching us to say “no” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in this present age, while we wait for the blessed hope – the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ. {Titus 2: 11-13}.

Our motivator as we enter into gospel-rich discipling relationships is to not only grow in godliness and maturity, but to prepare us to bask in His glory.

Discipleship is so dear to my heart. I have been impacted by people who have taken the time to invest in my life and spur me on in my faith. I have learned so much, been challenged, and reaped its fruit.

Please don’t let pride get in the way of you experiencing God’s grace in relationships. Take it from me – it’s amazing! I encourage you to find a mentor – someone to provide you with godly counsel. If you think you don’t need one, oh friend, don’t believe the lie. We ALL need mentors.

But hear me on this: our ULTIMATE mentor should be Jesus Christ.

CURLY CUE #10: Let people touch your heart and run their fingers through your life – they usually know better and the results are much more superior than what you could accomplish on your own.

Love,

Brenna, the girl with curly hair ❤

P.S. If you ever want to touch my hair, I promise I won’t bite!!

unnamed
Judy is so JOYFUL for the things of the Lord. Love receiving hugs from her!
One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Dad says, “Well done!”

    This is perfect !! And so timely — as we were just discussing the importance of discipleship the other day.

    And I agree … Judy is an amazing woman !! God blessed you abundantly with her Godly counsel !!

    Another great blog, Baby !!

    Love you !! ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

