Brush Through Every Season

Brushing my hair isn’t my favorite pastime. Mostly because when I do, it incites the beast to reach some pretty LOFTY proportions….literally.

45fcea07bbe0b67a24944c9dae81a779-e1491606371374.jpg

Now, don’t misinterpret that as I NEVER brush my hair because by golly, I do! But….not as often as you may think.

Brushing the beast should be done carefully and only when it’s wet. My theory is that it’s in a better mood after getting massaged and pampered in the shower, so it’s willing to obey me for a short period of time.

But, I NEVER brush the mane when it’s dry. If I’m foolish enough to do something as cringe-worthy as that (yes, it hurts enough that I’ll actually cringe when attempting to brush through my curls), the beast deserves to be unleashed. One brush stroke and the damage is done. The frizz fest is now open to the public!

On an even more personal note, the past few weeks have been kind of overwhelming for me. Projects are piling up, assignment due dates are getting closer, I’m busy at work, and other commitments have been taking up a lot of my free time. I question how I’m going to manage my time and accomplish everything I need to do with excellence. My time of refreshment and recalibration have waned.

It seems like my life has been so dry and frizzy that I’ve convinced myself I can’t pick up the brush. It’s as if I’m waiting for some water to wash through my life in order to assure myself that it’s the right time to use the brush. In other words, I’m waiting for things to settle down and to start submitting to what I think is right before I try doing anything else.

Why do I tend to do this with God’s Word? Why do I think I know the best time to pick up His Word and the best time not to?

I can believe the lie that only when everything’s going right and orderly in my life is when I’m “ready” or most deserving to receive His Word. Only then will I properly understand it because I’ve addressed the stressors in my life and I’m no longer distracted. But, it’s in those moments when I feel most unsuitable to read His Word that I’m really the most ready.

God’s Word is for the person that’s distracted. God’s Word is for the person that’s overwhelmed. God’s Word is for the person that’s lost. God’s Word is for the person who’s scared.

God’s Word is NOT for those who are well. God’s Word is for those who are sick and in need of a remedy.

On hearing this, Jesus said to them, ‘It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.’”

{Mark 2:17}

I finally took this to heart this week. I was feeling very weak, powerless, and worn-out. I knew there was no way my mind or body could accomplish everything I needed to do in my own strength. I felt like crying. I felt like wallowing in my anger. I felt like being the victim.

Thanks be to God that even though I felt those things, I didn’t act on them because I knew those options were hopeless. I needed to find my hope again. I needed to turn to my Provider. I needed to pick up the brush when I was feeling dry.

And guess what? He reminded me that He already provided me with everything I will ever need: Jesus Christ.

He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things?”

{Romans 8:32}

Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Christ Jesus our Lord!”

{Romans 7:25a}

If God gave His Son for me and through Him has rescued me from the hopeless desires of my flesh, how could I ever question if He could provide for me in my simple stress of everyday life??

Jesus has overcome and made a way for me to spend eternity worshipping Him. And Jesus has overcome and made a way for me to worship Him even through the stress of this life. He is the part of the brush that’s most worthy to be grasped – whether my life seems dry or overflowing with water.

It doesn’t matter the condition of my life. I ALWAYS need Scripture. I ALWAYS need to pick up the brush – whether I’m stressed, busy, overjoyed, or in doubt.

I encourage you – never feel like you aren’t ready or worthy to receive God’s Word. YOU ARE.

CURLY CUE #12: Instead of allowing the dry and wet seasons of your life to rule you, pick up the brush that rules over them.

Let’s pick up the brush together this week – no matter what season we’re in.

Love,

Brenna, the girl with curly hair ❤

unnamed (3)
Fun Fact: I’ve been using this brush for years and it works great for my crazy lion’s mane :).
2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Diana Zuranski April 8, 2017 — 9:34 pm

    “But, it’s in those moments when I feel most unsuitable to read His Word that I’m really the most ready.”

    Love this !! Superb !! Brenna, your blog is so well written — and so inspiring. Another GREAT message. Thank you for reminding us of our need to drink in His word !!!!

    Love you …
    Mom

    Like

  2. Great job, as always Brenna. Things we should all remember.

    Like

Leave a Reply

