Perfectly Inconsistent

I’m not perfect and neither is my curly hair. I’d like to think that after washing my locks, my wet hair would form flawless curls that are evenly and symmetrically distributed across my head, but that’s wishful thinking….(and I’ll be the first to letcha know when that actually happens.)

Instead, I’m left with sections of my hair that have picture-perfect spirals, some wavy stragglers, and also a few random straight pieces that apparently didn’t get the memo. How is that even possible?!! My hair is never all one kind of style, but a mixture of three!

The lion’s mane seriously has a mind of its own.

I could put in the time to make my hair look more uniform, but in all honesty, those inconsistencies make the seemingly perfect spirals look all the more beautiful. And why not allow perfection to develop alongside my imperfections? Rather than trying to generate perfection on my own, why not allow it to come from the One who is perfect?

Jesus is my perfecter.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God” (emphasis added).

{Hebrews 12:1-2}

Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve been inundated with projects and assignments. As I shared before, I’m a type “A” personality, so I can be a perfectionist. And boy, have I seen my desire for perfection rear its ugly head…so much so that I can see it consuming my mind and preventing me from making progress at times. I have no place with reaching perfection on my own.

Jesus is my perfecter.

I make mistakes. I’ve made a lot of mistakes. I can tend to hide them and try to make up for them by doing “good” or “perfect” deeds to cancel them out. That’s not how it works. It’s not about what I can do. It’s about what Jesus has already done.

Jesus is my perfecter.

Why have I come under the assumption that I have to make myself perfect? That I can handle the amount of strength it takes to reach perfection? Well, I CAN’T.

Jesus Christ, God’s Son, is perfect. He lived a perfect, sinless life – a life we cannot live. And by trusting in what He accomplished through His life, death, and resurrection, we can share in His perfection.

Jesus is OUR perfecter.

The desire we have for perfection is innately good because it’s a longing for our Savior, who is perfect. But, it’s the way we go about attaining perfection that can be cause for concern. Are we trusting in ourselves to reach perfection, or are we trusting in Jesus – who is already perfect – to be our perfecter?

My crazy curls remind me every day that although I wish I was more uniform, Jesus has chosen me with all my inconsistencies to share in His perfection completely. This is done by God’s grace alone, not based on what I deserve or what I’ve earned {Ephesians 2:8-9}.

CURLY CUE #13: You’re not supposed to be perfect. Leave that to Jesus. Trust He will make inconsistent things perfectly beautiful in His timing.

Love,

Brenna, the girl with curly hair ❤

*P.S. Don’t miss my VERY LAST blog post next week!!*

**P.P.S. Shakira’s curls have to be one of my favorites!!!

7f37cb06c909022eb5460685ac665ee5

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Another totally awesome blog, Miss Brenna!!

    From one perfectionist to another … I needed this reminder !!

    Love you,
    Mom ❤️

    Like

  2. Awesome, as usual. I’m going to miss my weekly Curly Cues! Maybe we have an author in our family?!? I’m one proud Aunt!

    Like

  3. Thanks Brenna. I needed this Encouragement today. He is our Perfecter. Amen.

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

    Like

Leave a Reply

