Wrist Impressions

One of the basic necessities of curly hair is always having a hair tie on standby. And I mean that. If it’s not on my wrist, I’m either carrying it in my book bag, purse, or pocket. A hair tie is the perfect weapon against the wind, rain, and beating sun.

9782842c393c50bf43fd37bfeaff00cf

Carrying around a hair tie might not be unique to having curly hair, but it’s still a major player in taming my mane. I can’t even imagine not being able to put my hair up in a bun to get a break from the frizziness (I go into detail about that lovely hair ‘do here).

But I’m not writing to highlight what a hair tie does, but what it leaves.

Hair ties leave an impression. You know you’ve had a hair tie on your wrist for a while when it starts to leave a mark. Since hair ties are essential in my life, whenever I move or take one off my wrist, there’s always proof that it spent quite a bit of time clinging to me.

Someone might say, “Well, then don’t wear such tight hair ties around your wrist.”

Oh friend, if only you knew. We’re talking about a lion’s mane here. Thick, curly, heavy, bulky hair. I can’t settle for a flimsy, little baby one – I need the taut, big mama one. If I don’t, the beast will chew it up and spit it out.

It’s the taut, durable ones that leave an impression. It’s the taut, durable ones that persist and get the job done. It’s the taut, durable ones that control the beast.

I’m not going to have you consider if you’re a flimsy hair tie or a taut hair tie, although I’m not saying you can’t.

What I want you to think about is this: What are you allowing to be your hair tie?

What are you allowing to cling to you and leave a lasting impression? What are you allowing to persist in your life and finish its work? What are you allowing to control you, the beast?

Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone as obedient slaves, you are slaves of the one you obey–whether you are slaves to sin, which leads to death, or to obedience, which leads to righteousness?” {Romans 6:16}

You are a slave to whatever you obey and allow to impress upon your heart. Are you allowing your past and present sins to be your hair tie?

For we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body ruled by sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin— because anyone who has died has been set free from sin.” {Romans 6:6-7}

Brother and sister, it doesn’t have to be! There is HOPE in Christ!

When we trust in Christ, our flesh is crucified with Him {Galatians 5:24} so that sin no longer has dominion over us. And after being freed from our sinful nature, our new nature runs toward Christ.

Instead of allowing something or someone else to act as your hair tie, you be Christ’s hair tie, only in the sense of clinging to Him and abiding in Him through the Word {John 15:4}. But allow Him to persist in your life, allow Him to finish His work, and allow Him to take control of your heart.

CURLY CUE #11: Be careful with trusting the hair ties around your wrist and instead, partake in the freedom Christ provides in BOTH of His wrists.

His redeem, yours deceive.

Love,

Brenna, the girl with curly hair ❤

The-Bitter-Sweet-Bracelet-798x350
BTW…I definitely recommend these hair tie bracelets! I have one of my own and it’s WAAAY better than letting your hair tie cut off your circulation. You can find them here

 

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Diana Zuranski April 2, 2017 — 1:09 pm

    Oh my goodness … beautiful. Choking back the tears. Your blogs get better and better. Thank you for always pointing us to Christ !! Love you !! ❤️

    Like

Leave a comment